2013 Summer Makeup Trends

Standard

Jeweled eyelids, thick eyebrows, colored eyeliner, extra-long lashes and bold, matte lips are here to turn the hot summer into a fashionable one.

Designers like Donna Karan, Clements Ribeiro, Christopher Kane, Gucci, Versace, Chanel and Dior chose to draw attention to the eyes with colored liner, jeweled lids and extra-long lashes at the four fashion weeks this year. Other designers like Giles, Rochas and Burberry Prorsum drew attention to the lips using bold, matte lip colors.

Misbah Adil, a 22-year-old freelance makeup artist from Lexington, Ky., thinks matte lips are perfect for the hot weather.

“I do prefer matte lips for the warm weather, because it’s warm out and your makeup gets greasy,” Adil said. “Matte lips stay looking fresh, and add a glow to the face.”

Maariyah Hussain, an 18-year-old cosmetology major and freelance makeup artist from Bradford, England, thinks bold lips only look good if worn for a special occasion.

Vibrant colored eye shadows, blushes and lipsticks are also trending this summer. Using bright colors for the eyes with nude lips, and nude eyes with bright lips is the way to go this summer.

Madiha Iqbal, a 24-year-old salon owner and professional makeup artist from Aberdeen, Scotland, thinks vibrant colors look best, especially on the runway.

“I am using a lot of reds on my models now for fashion shows, etc.,” Iqbal said. “I love using vibrant colors.”

Uche Iheukwumere, a 22-year-old freelance makeup artist from Springfield, Mo., thinks this summer’s makeup trends have been exciting because they are very color oriented.

“Bright lips, bright eyes, colored eyeliner, and so forth are all in. I love it. I love popping makeup so I love it,” Iheukwumere said.

The type of shades of makeup one should wear heavily depends on the skin tone a person has.

Adil thinks nude lips don’t look good on lighter skin tones, while vibrant colors look best.

Iqbal thinks pink, bronze and apricot colored cheeks work great with all different skin types.

Iheukwumere thinks dark colored lips and eye shadows look better on darker skin tones.

“Generally fairer skin tones are allowed more versatility whilst darker women should focus on medium to darker eye colors,” Iheukwumere said.

Face contouring or sculpting is also a popular trend this summer. Contouring became popular among women because of celebrities like Kim Kardashian, Lilly Ghalichi, etc.

Contouring is done by using darker shades of brown under the cheek bones, along the bridges of the nose, under the jaw line, and on the sides of the forehead to create an illusion of a more defined face.

Highlighting is the opposite of contouring, which is done by using lighter shades of brown on top of the cheekbones, brows, Cupid’s bow, and the tip of nose—making these areas pop out.

“Contouring is a must for me. I believe everyone can benefit from contouring the cheek bone, nose and jaw line, and highlighting is also a must. Definitely need to highlight the areas required,” Iqbal said.

“For everyday makeup I think it should be done very lightly. Before applying blush or bronzer,” Hussain said.

Another trend this summer made popular by models on the runway and celebrities like Lilly Ghalichi is—big bold eyebrows.

Thick brows look best with a nude eye or just a little bit of mascara, red/orange lips, and a lot of bronzer or blush, along with a well contoured and highlighted face.

“I dislike ladies who still believe thin eyebrows look nice and have to pencil them in. It is not a good look at all.” Iqbal said.

Some makeup don’ts this summer would be metallic lips, thin eyebrows, heavy eyeliner and glossy lips.

Transcript:

Annureet Kaur: Kamal Kaur, a 26-year-old makeup user shows us a makeup tutorial on a day look and a night look.

Kamal Kaur: The foundation that I like to use is the MAC StudioTech. It’s this cream foundation, like the best thing ever invented. It’s really nice for like an everyday, quick makeup look that covers everything. So for my eyes, for an everyday look, I like to use the MAC paint pot….Just make everything blend in. Next, I’m going to use this gel eyeliner with this angled brush…it just kind of accentuates my eyes a little bit. Ok, so last, but not least, I’m just going to apply some colored lip gloss. So there it is! My five minute day look. Ok, so now I’m going to show you how to transform this day look into a night look just by adding a couple of things to your face. The first thing I’m going to use is this dark brown eye shadow, and I’m going just take a little bit of it, and add it to the crease, and just blend out that eyeshadow that you just added. Another thing I’m going to do is, use this darker blush. It’s a dark, bronze, powder blush. For the night look, I’m going to change my lip color to this really pretty pink that I have.

Contouring and Highlighting Your Face

photo(8)

photo(7)

Leave a comment